Trinity Suburb is an old picturesque part of Minsk located on the bank of the Svisloch River in the city center.
Its cozy little streets and houses, with tile roofs and delicate colors, have become a symbol of Minsk. Their image can be often seen on souvenirs and candy.
The settlement Trinity Hill appeared near the Svisloch River in 12th-13th centuries. In ancient times these suburb was a commercial center. It was a place where roads from Vilno, Polotsk, Smolensk and Mogilev intersected. In late 16th century it became the largest marketplace in the town called Trinity Market.
In XV-XVII centuries Trinity Mount, Lower Market and Rakovskoe suburb were surrounded by fortifications. Suburb was built with the wooden houses in which lived artisans, merchants, farmers and militaries. Ancient layout suburbs disappeared in 1809 during the great fire and was rebuilt in stone.